Mnangagwa Forms Commission Of Inquiry, Picks Mwamunyange As Member.

Zimbabwean President Emerson Mnangagwa has appointed a seven-person commission of inquiry to probe post-election violence that rocked Harare on August 1, 2018.
The South African President Kgalema Motlanhte headed commission members including former Tanzania People’s Defence Force (TPDF) Chief of Defence Forces General (Rtd) Davis Mwamunyange and other eminent persons from within and outside Zimbabwe.
Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and East African Cooperation Professor Adolph Mkenda could not comment on the appointment of Gen Mwamunyange when reached by ‘Daily News’ through a telephone.
Six people died and property worth thousands of dollars was destroyed by suspectedMDC-Alliance supporters who went on the rampage during the violent demonstration. Other members of the commission from outside Zimbabwe are international law expert Rodney Dixon QC from the UK and former Secretary General of the Commonwealth Chief Emeka Anyaoku.
University of Zimbabwe (UZ) lecturers Professors Charity Manyeruke and Lovemore Madhuku as well as former president of the Law Society of Zimbabwe (LSZ) MrsVimbai Nyemba are also among members of commission.
“In fulfillment of what I have earlier on undertaken to do, in order to address the matter in a transparent manner and in the public interest, I have appointed a seven-member Commission to inquire into the post-election violence,” President Mnangagwa announced at his Munhumutapa offices, adding: “The Commission is made up of local, regional and international members, who have been appointed in terms of the Commission of Inquiry Act (Chapter 10:07).”
President Mnangagwa said the commission’s terms of reference were to inquire into the circumstances that led to the violence, identify actors and their leaders, motive and strategies they employed, among other pertinent issues.

Leave a Comment