FC Barcelona win 13th Spanish Super Cup

FC Barcelona won its 13th Spanish Super Cup after beating Sevilla in Tangier. Ernesto Valverde’s men, who’ve been in eight of the last nine finals, didn’t allow Pablo Machín‘s side time or space to build up any rhythm, and ended the match at the Stade Ibn Battouta with a convincing 2-1 victory.
It’s a first title of the season for the Blaugrana, days before the start of a new La Liga campaign.
The title confirms FC Barcelona as the dominating team in the competition, with thirteen wins achieved in the 1983/84, 1991/92, 1992/93, 1994/95, 1996/97, 2005/06, 2006/07, 2009/10, 2010/11, 2011/12, 2013/14, 2016/17 and 2018/19 seasons.
Real Madrid place second in this particular ranking with ten titles, whilst Deportivo La Coruña have three, Athletic Club and Atlético Madrid have two each and Valencia, Mallorca, Real Sociedad, Zaragoza and Sevilla have one, from a competition that was established in 1982.

Leave a Comment